PDA

View Full Version : Snails & Mollusks strange thing in my tank

Jared Clesi
06-09-2005, 01:20 AM
hello i am a newb and i have a very strange thing in my tank...
...i just reciently rearranged my tank to fit more in it lol and i have found something that is very strange on one of my zoanthid colony it is in the same shape as the zoo's trunk, if u will, but there is no polyp at the top there is this thing inside of a hard tube that spits this stringy stuff. it looks like the stringy stuff that comes off of ur inverts when u stress them. anyway back to what this thing looks like i added my chemicals the other day and got to see him he is in a hard tube and he looks kinda like a snail's mouth in which he spits a stringy sticky substance and when i add the chemicals he pulls this stringy substance back in and i guess consumes it
i dont know any ideas

Limpit
06-09-2005, 01:00 PM
How about a picture?

Debbraey
06-09-2005, 02:01 PM
I would like to see some pictures. I have many zoo s and I may have one myself. I could look closer! :?: :?: :?: :D

Reptoreef
06-09-2005, 02:18 PM
Is the "tube" solid??? Sounds like the feeding action of a vermitted snail.

Repto

Reef_Angel
06-09-2005, 03:39 PM
Vermitted snail??

Sea~Horse~Whisperer
06-10-2005, 03:57 AM
I have them. Someone told me they were called peanut worms. They are good.

Jared Clesi
06-11-2005, 03:34 AM
to answer the question if the tube is solid yes it is but it is hollow
also if it is ok for my tank why is it that the, saliva i guess, makes the rest of my coral curl up
and yes i will be getting a pix so i can put it on for u guys to see

Reptoreef
06-11-2005, 09:34 AM