[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

advice

Bookmark and Share
Page 1 of 2 1 2 Last
    redemer123 - Reefkeeper
    Graphic Designer

First Name
    Andrew

Talking advice

im a beginner looking for some help i welcome your advice

jimsflies - Reefkeeper
    Admin/Founder

First Name
    Jim

A few good reads to start with are the sticky threads in this forum. They are the top 3-4 threads in the list.

EMUreef - Reefkeeper
    IT Guru

Awards March Madness Award - 2013 March Madness Winner Photo of the Month Fishbowl Drawing Winner

Quote Originally Posted by redemer123 View Post
    im a beginner looking for some help i welcome your advice
    Alright well since this is going to be your first SW tank....

One thing i need you to answer.

1. What kinda of saltware aquarium do you want to have a Fish only with live rock, which means no coral just sweet fish? Or do you want an aquarium that has coral in it?

You mentioned that you want to get a 50g tank, its a good idea to start something bigger like that as the more water volume the better.

Saltwater is all about taking it slow and making the right choices. Going at this hobby fast and adding things fast only ends up in a big waste of money.

I would take some advice from a local fish store of LFS, than come back here and tell us what you learned so we can correct anything. Sometimes they give you advice only so they can sell sell sell.

Learn as much as you can before you start a tank, heck even go out and buy a few saltwater aquarium books to help you out.

Now more questions?

redemer123 - Reefkeeper
    Graphic Designer

First Name
    Andrew

ok well i figured it would probably be best to start off with a Fish only tank for a while to see if i can sucessfully keep a fish alive...and also if i find a 1$/gallon fish tank sale i will get the biggest tank possible