[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

Bryopsis Treatment Series- Skeptic No More

Bookmark and Share
Page 1 of 2 1 2 Last
    BeakerBob - Reefkeeper
    RIP

Awards Photo of the Month Photo of the Month

Default Bryopsis Treatment Series- Skeptic No More

Alright, I'm a biologist and a chemist and tend to look at things in a much different manner than others, usually with great skepticism.

I have had some issues with bryopsis (OK, I have had a BIG issue with bryopsis) in my tank. As a biologist, my first treatment of choice is biological....find something that eats this stuff to make it go away. My first choice was a Yellow tang.
    12YellowTang11 2 053 - Bryopsis Treatment Series- Skeptic No More

Unfortunately, he grew too big and took to eating the fish and coral food that I was feeding in the tank, forgetting about the algae. When he really got hungry, it seemed that he was picking around my zoas, so I passed him on.

Next, my son recommended a Reticulated Rabbitfish. Great looking fish with quite an appetite. He took to the algae like there was no tomorrow, until he got a taste of the food I was feeding the tank with.
    12DSC 3845MRa - Bryopsis Treatment Series- Skeptic No More
    Then he started showing his fondness for the food and the algae was only a second thought when I was late for the feeding cycle. As he grew bigger and older, he started nipping at my softies, so he left the house too.

I now have a Kole Tang (no picture), but he does not do the job that I want him to do. Additionally, he is starting to chase my jawfish around, so he will not be in the house for very much longer.

More to come!

BeakerBob - Reefkeeper
    RIP

This is some background to the battle saga.

-I feed the tank once daily, putting very little food in the tank to prevent phosphate buildup.