[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

DIY Salt Mix Filter

Bookmark and Share
    CR Member

Default DIY Salt Mix Filter

Do you filter your salt water mix before a water change?

I use Reef Crystals and usually make 15 gallon batches for water changes. I circulate the water with a power head and aerate with a bubble stone for at least 24 hours prior to the water change.

In the past, I would always have a brownish scum stuck to the tote at the water surface at the end of mixing. I also always had this brownish color to my sand bed surface both in the DT and in the refugium. Kind of like diatoms but not quite.

Came up with this DIY filter for use when making my batches. I've been using it for about 2-3 months, and my sand bed is "brownish stuff free". I would also say that my WC water is much clearer than before filtering it. It's easy to make and pulls a lot of "crud" out of each batch. If you haven't filtered your salt water mix, you might be surprised at what comes out. I have not tried this with other salt mixes.

Take a piece of 3/4" PVC and cap one end (longer the better, but a 6-8" piece should work. Mine is around 12"). Drill 6-8 1/4" holes in the pipe near the cap.
    IMG00292 20130225 0035 zps5887910f - DIY Salt Mix Filter

Cut a filter sock (or similar fine filter cloth) in a strip wide enough to cover your holes and zip tie it to the PVC pipe making sure the holes are covered and the zip ties "seal" the ends.
    IMG00291 20130225 0035 zps3501e59e - DIY Salt Mix Filter