[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

What type of fish is in the middle of CaptiveReefs (top left corner of page...hint it is the main character in Finding Nemo) )

Results: Do you use a GFCI (Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter)?

Voters
17. Register or Login to Vote
  • Yes

    11 64.71%
  • No

    6 35.29%

Do you use a GFCI?


Bookmark and Share
Page 1 of 2 1 2 Last
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    nate_newton - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    St. Joseph, MI
    Posts
    511
    First Name
    Nate

    Default Do you use a GFCI?

    Do you use a GFCI (Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter)?

  2. #2
    larryandlaura - Reefkeeper
    Team CR

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Houghton Lake
    Posts
    5,079
    First Name
    Larry
    Awards Monthly Giveaway Winner Fantasy Football Champion Referral Award Monthly Giveaway Winner

    Default

    I use a GFI for fire prevention. I like it due to that fact it will cut out if somrthing arcs out.

  3. #3
    tankdude - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Shelby Twp.
    Posts
    237
    First Name
    Dean

    Default

    I use GFCI on everything I have plugged in. When I finished my basement the new circuits I installed were also GFCI in the panel, per code. Why would I mention my basement? My sump is there, and the last thing I need is a fire starting below my son's bedroom. I think it's absolutely necessary that you use them for your own protection from a major shock also.

  4. #4
    CR Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Jenison, MI
    Posts
    34

    Default

    I installed new breakers and ran two new lines from my box, each to a GFCI. I also have a surge protector on each outlet, one for the lights and one for the pumps. ( Serious Overkill, but total piece of mind. )

  5. #5
    CableGuy - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    SCS,MI
    Posts
    361
    First Name
    Adam

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by larryandlaura View Post
    I use a GFI for fire prevention. I like it due to that fact it will cut out if somrthing arcs out.
    100% False. For that, you need an Arc sensing breaker.

  6. #6
    The.Maxi.Man - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    108

    Default

    I don't lol

  7. #7
    larryandlaura - Reefkeeper
    Team CR

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Houghton Lake
    Posts
    5,079
    First Name
    Larry
    Awards Monthly Giveaway Winner Fantasy Football Champion Referral Award Monthly Giveaway Winner

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CableGuy View Post
    100% False. For that, you need an Arc sensing breaker.
    So you are saying that it won't trip a breaker than?

  8. #8
    CR Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Warren
    Posts
    17

    Default

    When I started to build my current tank I installed GFCI in all outlets of the circuit the tank would run in. Completely unnecessary but was easy. I used to go to school to be an electrician and I just feel safer with them. 15-20 a piece is worth it to me compared to the other expenses. With all the electricity a reef tank has flowing to it and all the saltwater splashing around I feel it is a must.

  9. #9
    CableGuy - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    SCS,MI
    Posts
    361
    First Name
    Adam

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by larryandlaura View Post
    So you are saying that it won't trip a breaker than?
    I should have said 99%, not 100%.

    It is possible that it could arc between the hot wire and something like the stand or a whole different circuit's ground back to the box and trip but not always the case. A GFCI will only trip when it senses a change in the status of its' ground. So yes, it COULD arc and it could trip but not always guaranteed.

    They now sell arc and GFCI breakers. They are a few pretty pennies, but well worth it.


    There are also a few threads floating around of people using GFCI's and they tripped for no reason taking out most of the tank from no flow/heat. For the record I do not use any GFCI's but when I setup the new tank, it will have two 20 amp GFCI and arc breaker circuits.

  10. #10
    CR Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Warren
    Posts
    17

    Default

    off topic but +1 to cable. An arc may not trip a breaker. GFCI protects you from completing the circuit where as an arc detector senses the arc and interrupts the circuit. arc breakers are more for say old wires or frayed cords that give arc. AFCI are typically installed in newer ( I think 2002 and up) panel boxes or as outlets. The best protection from fire from arc and shock from completing a circuit is a combo AFCI and GFCI breaker in your panel box. AFCI can and will trip a lot from motors. That being said just make sure your cords aren't frayed and stick with GFCI.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 Last

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

About CaptiveReefs

    If you are interested in learning about reefkeeping or have a problem with your reef, our reefkeeping community is here to help. Feel free to ask a question or search our site. We have lots of experienced reefkeepers that are willing to provide free reefkeeping advice!

    Besides being a great resource for all levels of reef aquarium hobbyists, CaptiveReefs is a social experience that will enhance your enjoyment of reefkeeping. CaptiveReefs is committed to connecting reefkeepers with the support and information they need to grow beautiful coral reef aquariums.

Information

Connect with Us