[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

Problems with sump tank and some corals

Bookmark and Share
    Riceman - Reefkeeper CR Member
    First Name
    Riceman

Default Problems with sump tank and some corals

Hello this is my first time leaving a thead so please bare with me...

I have three problems with my salt water first tank. I have been running my tank for 13 weeks and have exchange water three times within that time period. I have a 130 gallon salt water, dual overflows w/ spray bar, power combat lights and sump tank. so here goes

1) My sump tank for some reason contineous being low on water. at first I was able to put water in once every two weeks but within the last week or so I am putting water in at least every three days now. pics enclosed of sump tank.

2) I have star poloy that was shining beautiful but now they wont even come out. I thought it was of my water temperture which was below 70 degrees but I did get corrected one week ago and now it at 80 degrees.
    the water was check at oceans and seas but I dont know wat else to do. but my others corals are doing well esp my anomia.

3) I got some orangish color flower looking items growing in my tank and was wondering at it is... pic enlosed

thank u in advance on any advise....

P.S. I been changing my water with simple tap water (I was told that michigan walter has it own purities and That I need need to go through a cycle to prepare my water for adding to my tank
    Attached Images Attached Images      
    Last edited by Riceman; 04-06-2011 at 01:34 PM.
    ****************** Riceman ****************************

EMUreef - Reefkeeper
    IT Guru

Awards March Madness Award - 2013 March Madness Winner Photo of the Month Fishbowl Drawing Winner

Quote Originally Posted by Riceman View Post