[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

What type of fish is in the middle of CaptiveReefs (top left corner of page...hint it is the main character in Finding Nemo) )

water test


Bookmark and Share
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Corvette Reefer - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Dexter, Michigan
    Posts
    421

    Default water test

    so i tested my water today to see if it was clean of nitrates and it was ZEROOO, now i know these things are super accurate and my tank could have like .2, .5, or what ever and the test wouldn't read it, but i got a idea. what if u did like half or 3/4ths the amount of water in the test tube that your suppose to and then just did the test, that way it would be more concentrated to read better to see if it truly is zero.
    The names Vette, Corvette. . .

  2. #2
    rmalone - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    grand blanc, mi
    Posts
    388

    Default

    No you need to use a test kit that reads in a low range, such as Salifert or Lamotte. Unless your using bio-pellets or vodka along with bacteria (aka pro-biotics). Then you don't have zero nitrates, probably low but not zero. What kit are you using, I have seen api throw false negatives and the Ocean kit always shows zero.

  3. #3
    Corvette Reefer - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Dexter, Michigan
    Posts
    421

    Default

    iv been using colonize (stuff from fosters, pro-biotics) and im just using some old test kit we have API test 3 times all 0 readings
    The names Vette, Corvette. . .

  4. #4
    Sir Patrick - Reefkeeper A2 Club Coordinator
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    UofM territory
    Posts
    7,542
    First Name
    Chris
    Awards Monthly Giveaway Winner

    Default

    I think it is very possible your nitrates are very close to 0. Your tank is established, 3 years old? w/ a pretty well maintained deep sand bed. Your sps, for the most part, keep color, and you keep up on your water changes.

    If you really want to get a real acurate reading, you have 2 options-

    Get a low range test kit or have someone that does test your water.

Similar Topics

  1. Disaster & Prevention Water Test Wacko
    By ReeferRob in forum Basics
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 11-01-2009, 09:17 PM
  2. Salt & Water Test your "Water Change' water
    By dakar in forum Basics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-12-2005, 09:59 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

About CaptiveReefs

    If you are interested in learning about reefkeeping or have a problem with your reef, our reefkeeping community is here to help. Feel free to ask a question or search our site. We have lots of experienced reefkeepers that are willing to provide free reefkeeping advice!

    Besides being a great resource for all levels of reef aquarium hobbyists, CaptiveReefs is a social experience that will enhance your enjoyment of reefkeeping. CaptiveReefs is committed to connecting reefkeepers with the support and information they need to grow beautiful coral reef aquariums.

Information

Connect with Us