[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

What would you do next?

Bookmark and Share
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 Last
    Pat-O - Reefkeeper CR Member
    First Name
    Patrick

Default What would you do next?

Im pretty new at salt water and my tank has been running/cycling for just under a month now. The past two days my brown algae turned to a bright green both days of testing showed that my ph finally got to 8.4-8.8 and my ammonia nitrite and nitrate all fell to zero. I have a couple ideas myself but I like to learn as much as I can and I would like to see the different ideas everyone has for the next step. I would like to start with fish and live rock and make my way into coral. What steps do you guys recommend to start getting on my way?

XSiVE - Reefkeeper
    First Name
    Ryan
    Awards Monthly Giveaway Winner

If your pH is spiking up to 8.8 you might want to look into that before you consider putting anything alive in there.. that's pretty high.

Once you get that in line and you're looking into fish, start small and non-agressive. What size is your system?

First Name
    Patrick

I was treating my tank for a super low ph with buffer I would say its at about an 8.4, do you think i should try and bring it down now? Its a sixty gallon tank.

larryandlaura - Reefkeeper
    Team CR

First Name
    Larry
    Awards Monthly Giveaway Winner Fantasy Football Champion Referral Award Monthly Giveaway Winner

8.3 is were I run my tank. I would stop using the buffer for now and see what your ph does. Remeber it swings a bit from night to day.
    Hi my name is Larry and I'm a coral addict!

rmalone - Reefkeeper CR Member

You were mainly seeing that low ph from the cycle. Stop adding any ph buffers it should swing down a bit. I wouldn't even worry about ph until it gets below 7.8.

jimsflies - Reefkeeper
    Admin/Founder

First Name