[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

Dosing Ca/Mg/Alk manually

Bookmark and Share
    WoodShack - Reefkeeper CR Member
    First Name
    Tom

Default Dosing Ca/Mg/Alk manually

I recently purchased a 2-part system from bulk reef supply (with Mg). I have a few questions for anyone that has used this or similar products. When you add the alk does it always precipitate a bit? It was slightly cloudy and dissolved when it hit high flow (BTW I dose in the fuge). Also, is it common that Mg dosing involves such a high volume of fluid? To raise my mag 100 it is suggesting that I add 21ozs of the solution.

My parameters are:
    Ca 445
    dKH 9.5
    Mg 1350
    pH 8.1

I would like to raise my pH. How can I accomplish this with my 2part system? As you can tell I am very new to dosing.

First Name
    Tom

BTW I have a 75g with 29g fuge. My total water volume is about 80g

Sir Patrick - Reefkeeper A2 Club Coordinator
    First Name
    Chris
    Awards Monthly Giveaway Winner

I see your parameters are-

Ca 445
    dKH 9.5
    Mg 1350
    pH 8.1

Is this test predose or post dose? What levels are you trying to maintain in your tank?

Whay are you trying to bring the ca and dkh up to? How much of each equaly are you adding?

If you add too much at a time, it can percipitate. If you add larger quantities too close together, they can precipitate.

What you need to find out (per day) is how much your calc/alk goes down per every 24 hours, to find out how much you need to add every 24 hours.

Figuring these 2 peices of info might help with your percipitation problem.

Will be checking in for this info tomorow after noon some time. Then I can help you further.

A bit of other info could help as well-

What kind of corals are you keeping in the tank, and how densly coral populated is the tank?