[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

New LED's not going well? Any ideas?

Bookmark and Share
Page 1 of 2 1 2 Last
    greenstarfish03 - Reefkeeper CR Member
    First Name
    Joe

Default New LED's not going well? Any ideas?

Hello,

I've been reefing for at least 7-8 years and I still have some of my original fish and some orginal corals. In the last year or so I added some SPS to my mixed reef and they did pretty well under my 7 24 inch T5s. Recently Chort talked me into upgrading my lights to LED's. I originaly took out 5 T5's and added 24 LEDS (DIY from rapid LED). They didn't light the tank well enough and some of my SPS wern't doing well so I jacked up my LEDs to 42 which maxes out my heat sync, and inorder to fit them in I had to get rid of the last T5s. My tank is 30x30x30 and all of my SPS are at the top. The 42 LED's have been over the tank for about a week, and the SPS are maybe getting worse. Can someone help me w/ this a little. My sps seem to be turning white. I've never had a problem like this before and my T5's were like 18 months old when I switched them. I don't think its too much light but I don't know for sure really.

White usualy means not enough light correct? Any explanation on the actual chemical process would be appreciated if someone wants to explain it to me I usualy don't change anything in my reef and things have went well for a long time. This is a little out of the ordinary for me and Im not sure what the right move is? Turn the lights down, up, ??? if I guess wrong things that I've grown for years die? How do I know?

Thanks

ebushrow - Reefkeeper CR Member
    First Name
    Eric

Quote Originally Posted by greenstarfish03 View Post
    Hello,