[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

DIY Glass & Acrylic Questions

Bookmark and Share
    CR Member
    First Name
    Chris

Default DIY Glass & Acrylic Questions

This question is for all you glass and acrylic DIY'ers as I have little experience with either however not afraid to try. To make a long story short, I bought an AIO to get into reefing on a budget. Budget was blown and I'm 8 months in on my system and have realized that a sump would REALLY be nice. So here's the deal....

I have a 20" x 20" x 20" tank (solana 34g) that I would like to add a sump to. I need more volume and space so I can have an oversized skimmer and a place to hide all components that need to be hidden and essentially clean up the system a bit. The issue is that the back panel of glass has a recession in it for wires and power cords, etc. This recess in the back panel is 15" long by 1.25" high centered on the back panel. This makes drilling an issue because the water level would be excessively low. Since the intent is to remove the false wall, I have to find a way to deal with this recess. I think the way to do this is to have an external overflow. So I was thinking of what options I have and 3 came to mind.

1. Get a piece of acrylic and silicone it to the rear panel and cut slits into it for surface skimming.
    2. somehow fabricate a piece of acrylic to fit into the recess. The acrylic would need to be thick enough to dove tail it to fit tightly over the existing glass of the rear panel.
    3. Remove and replace the rear panel.