[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

What type of fish is in the middle of CaptiveReefs (top left corner of page...hint it is the main character in Finding Nemo) )

DIY Not Your Normal Sump... HELP!


Bookmark and Share
Page 1 of 2 1 2 Last
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    mutts - Reefkeeper Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    904
    First Name
    Manda Wolf

    Default DIY Not Your Normal Sump... HELP!

    I have an idea for a sump and i wanted to know what you all think about it.

    First this would be for my 75 Gallon tank, that can't be drilled so here is the reason for making my own.

    I plan on building a small stand behind my tank to put a 10 gal or 20 long on. I will have this tank divided up like all under the tank sumps are. But I wanted to have two pumps on putting water in the tank and one taking it out. Also I plan on building two little boxes out of glass to hide the pumps from veiw.

    My question is what kind of pump would you recomend, have you ever tried this before or know someone who has (pictures would be nice), or any other little detail you could think of.

    Thanks!
    ~Amanda~

    It is really nice to see you here in this thread. While your online how about you go over to the TOTM thread and enter or vote. It will only take a minute

  2. #2
    dakar - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Western Louisiana
    Posts
    4,335
    First Name
    Dave

    Default

    Using anything but gravity and water level of the display alone feed your sump could be disasterous....only water from a specified height can leave the tank so in the event of some sort of failure the tank doesn't get emptied out since the siphon would eventually be broken. Using a pump on the other hand would defeat the protection, even a power failure could empty the tank to the level of the pump.

    There are some fairly easy to build overflows that can be constructed from PVC pipe and fittings, that or a hangon overflow box) would be a much better/safer choice.


    Remember the primary goal should be to skim the display tank's upper 1/2 - 1" of water as that is where the majority of protiens collect so they can be removed in the sump/refuge/skimmer etc...

    Hope this helps.... I've considered using a pump instead of an overflow many times, each time I've talked myself out of it.
    Every electronic device is manufactured with smoke stored deep inside... only a true genius can find a way to set it free.

  3. #3
    mutts - Reefkeeper Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    904
    First Name
    Manda Wolf

    Default

    The plan is to have the little box with the pump as close to the top as I can, this little box would also have some slits in in toward the top of that which would allow for water to go into the box, so if power or whatever did fail only a small amount of water would be on the floor...

    I hope I can make myself clean, basicly what happened was I saw an ecosystem aquarium at my LFS knowing it was way to expensive for what I had in mind but still likeing the idea I am trying to rebuild it in a more cash friendly way.

    Thanks for helping me dakar, I'm sorry if it takes me a little while to understand this!
    ~Amanda~

    It is really nice to see you here in this thread. While your online how about you go over to the TOTM thread and enter or vote. It will only take a minute

  4. #4

    Default

    Two pumps isn't something I would use. There is no way they will pump at the same rate. Just imagine if one died. Also, with evaporation your idea of having overflow boxes inside the tank isn't going to work well.

    I would recommend that you use an overflow. That way you can only overflow as much as you pump into the tank and all your evaporation will show in the return section of your sump.

  5. #5
    carpenterwrasse - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh,Pa
    Posts
    901
    First Name
    George

    Default

    why can you not drill the tank? Is it already set up? The overflow would work as long as you keep enough room in the sump for the sudden power failure.
    I speak from experience here my first attempt was wet to say the least.

  6. #6
    mutts - Reefkeeper Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    904
    First Name
    Manda Wolf

    Default

    i am going to use an overflow, and the reason i can't drill the tank is because it is made out of tempered glass... i don't want to mess with that
    ~Amanda~

    It is really nice to see you here in this thread. While your online how about you go over to the TOTM thread and enter or vote. It will only take a minute

  7. #7
    carpenterwrasse - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh,Pa
    Posts
    901
    First Name
    George

    Default

    I might be wrong here but my 75 is a tempered tnk also but only the bottom is tempered..mine is drilled in the back

  8. #8
    mutts - Reefkeeper Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    904
    First Name
    Manda Wolf

    Default

    thats what i was thinking, but i really don't want to assume anything and mess up my tank
    ~Amanda~

    It is really nice to see you here in this thread. While your online how about you go over to the TOTM thread and enter or vote. It will only take a minute

  9. #9
    carpenterwrasse - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh,Pa
    Posts
    901
    First Name
    George

    Default

    they should be able to tell you at the lfs if thats where you were planning to have it drilled

  10. #10
    mutts - Reefkeeper Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    904
    First Name
    Manda Wolf

    Default

    i got it from someone who was selling it from someone and to my lfs doesn't do that kind of stuff... it would be something i would have to do on my own. so i think i am going to go with the overflow box. seems safer, lol
    ~Amanda~

    It is really nice to see you here in this thread. While your online how about you go over to the TOTM thread and enter or vote. It will only take a minute

Page 1 of 2 1 2 Last

Similar Topics

  1. normal?
    By cg5071 in forum Large Polyp Stoney (LPS) Corals
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-16-2010, 11:55 AM
  2. LPS Corals normal?
    By cg5071 in forum Coral Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-16-2010, 11:55 AM
  3. Is this normal Ricordea behavior?
    By Sir Patrick in forum Soft Coral
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-13-2010, 10:24 AM
  4. Soft Corals Is this normal Ricordea behavior?
    By Sir Patrick in forum Coral Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-13-2010, 10:24 AM
  5. Is this normal for a live rock?
    By adam_anzivino in forum Basics
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-21-2007, 07:54 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

About CaptiveReefs

    If you are interested in learning about reefkeeping or have a problem with your reef, our reefkeeping community is here to help. Feel free to ask a question or search our site. We have lots of experienced reefkeepers that are willing to provide free reefkeeping advice!

    Besides being a great resource for all levels of reef aquarium hobbyists, CaptiveReefs is a social experience that will enhance your enjoyment of reefkeeping. CaptiveReefs is committed to connecting reefkeepers with the support and information they need to grow beautiful coral reef aquariums.

Information

Connect with Us