[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

DIY sump filter skimmer...HOW???

Bookmark and Share
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 Last

Default DIY sump filter skimmer...HOW???

I recently just setup my 55g to start a reef tank. It has been running for 8weeks now with about 10-15lbs of live rock and 15lbs of base rock, 40 lbs crushed coral, 10 lbs sand.
    I currently only have the whisper 2 large Bio-Bag filter. I have been told this filter is nowhere near enough filtration for my reef tank and that I need a skimmer. I have the lighting setup with 2x54w 10,000k, and 2 x54w actinic bulbs.

I am looking for a DIY filter and sump. I am a newbie with saltwater fish/reef tanks but good with woodworking, mechanics. What can I do to build a pretty intense filter system for my fish tank? The fish tank resides on my first floor living room, the sump and filter I want in the basement 1 floor below. I can run the hoses down to the sump no problem. I just have no idea what I need to build this setup. Can I build my own protein skimmer? If I remove my biobag filter (which I want to do because it

Whoyah - Reefkeeper CR Member