[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

What type of fish is in the middle of CaptiveReefs (top left corner of page...hint it is the main character in Finding Nemo) )

ELECTRICAL ADVICE???


Bookmark and Share
Page 1 of 2 1 2 Last
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Reptoreef - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Brigham City, Utah
    Posts
    2,530

    Default ELECTRICAL ADVICE???

    Shultz and I have found our new home... it's older and the electrical is not grounded(2 receptical instead of 3). So, here is the question: What options do I have as far as setting up my tank? It is a 120 gl(lit by 2- 250 watt metal halides and 4- 65 watt compacts), LED moonlighting, with a 55 gl fuge(55 watt RSD), a 55 gl sump(skimmer and auto top off), runs a calcium reactor and a kalk reactor as well as an ozone reactor. There are 2 return pumps(1- 700 gph and 1- 900 gph) and a 300 watt heater. I also have 2- 6" fans, a ORP controller and a ph controller, a wave maker w/4 power heads, and lastly... I intend to add a 20 or so gl gravity fed refugium above the aquarium. LOTS OF ELECTRICITY, I'm imagining! Can I get by with just a GCFI, or will I need to re-wire that 1 socket to a ground, or any other suggestions? Any help will be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Jason
    There's nowhere else I'ld rather be... unless, of course, you're buying

  2. #2
    jojo22 - Reefkeeper Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Canton, Ohio
    Posts
    2,828

    Default

    I would rewire it is much safer!!! If you go that route it may be a convience to have the electrician add another service box (where the breakers are) just for the tanks. It may or may not also be cheaper than trying to run grounded and ungrounded circuts from one box.
    Does water always taste like salt and poo????


  3. #3
    Sparky - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Brooklyn WI
    Posts
    133

    Default

    You do not need a ground when using GFCI receptacles. A GFCI device works by in-ballances on the neutral (ie you and water). Infact your only option is to change your 2 prong receptacles with GFCI ones if you are needing that third ground prong. To keep the recptacles code complaint. If you change a receptacle with out a ground it needs to be a GFCI or the 2 prong type on a ungrounded system. Sounds like you have alot of equipment to hook up can you get a fresh circuit or two to that location?

  4. #4
    Sparky - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Brooklyn WI
    Posts
    133

    Default

    Also keep in mind even if you run new circuits with a new wire with a ground your electrical service is a ungrounded service. So the ground wire is serving no purpose I would try to keep you tank equiupment on a sep fuse if you can.

  5. #5
    carpenterwrasse - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh,Pa
    Posts
    901
    First Name
    George

    Default

    my thought as well....is it a circuit breaker or fuse system if its a fused system it is a little more tricky but do able....
    check this girl out she is a great singer

    http://myspace.com/nicolejamesmusic

  6. #6
    jojo22 - Reefkeeper Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Canton, Ohio
    Posts
    2,828

    Default

    They would ground the system when adding the new breaker box...wouldn't they???
    Does water always taste like salt and poo????


  7. #7
    jerryc - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    1,345

    Default

    Jason just drive or have someone drive a ground rod at the entrance serves and bond to the neutral after that you can just put the ground to the neutral bar. thin run your new circuit with GFI to the tank.
    A separate grand bar is good' but it has to bond to the neutral somewhere
    to work right.
    I HAVE A PROBLEM' I'M ADDICTED TO MICROMUSSA

    RazorBack Reef. com
    keepersofthereef.com
    http://www.captivereefing.ws/weblog.php?w=7

  8. #8
    carpenterwrasse - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh,Pa
    Posts
    901
    First Name
    George

    Default

    thats correct new services require i beleive 2 grounding rods...When i had mine put in thats what he did... they are about 6 feet long copper rods that home depot sells
    check this girl out she is a great singer

    http://myspace.com/nicolejamesmusic

  9. #9
    jerryc - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    1,345

    Default

    The number of ground rods depends on the Resistance between the rod and connect point. But most homes will just need one.
    I HAVE A PROBLEM' I'M ADDICTED TO MICROMUSSA

    RazorBack Reef. com
    keepersofthereef.com
    http://www.captivereefing.ws/weblog.php?w=7

  10. #10
    carpenterwrasse - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh,Pa
    Posts
    901
    First Name
    George

    Default

    i went from a standard i think 10 fuse box to a 200 amp 20 slot circuit breaker box and thats what my electician friend said i needed so thats what i bought
    check this girl out she is a great singer

    http://myspace.com/nicolejamesmusic

Page 1 of 2 1 2 Last

Similar Topics

  1. Lighting Nice Electrical Cost Calculator. Bummer Results
    By Tom Toro in forum Hardware
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-01-2011, 01:17 PM
  2. Importance of Quality Electrical Installation
    By ReeferRob in forum DIY Projects & Plans
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-22-2009, 02:47 PM
  3. Flow & Plumbing Anyone see something wrong with using electrical PVC?
    By Fatman in forum Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-08-2007, 12:16 AM
  4. Tanks, Sumps & Refugiums My 29 any advice
    By stonepilot in forum Basics
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-25-2006, 08:08 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

About CaptiveReefs

    If you are interested in learning about reefkeeping or have a problem with your reef, our reefkeeping community is here to help. Feel free to ask a question or search our site. We have lots of experienced reefkeepers that are willing to provide free reefkeeping advice!

    Besides being a great resource for all levels of reef aquarium hobbyists, CaptiveReefs is a social experience that will enhance your enjoyment of reefkeeping. CaptiveReefs is committed to connecting reefkeepers with the support and information they need to grow beautiful coral reef aquariums.

Information

Connect with Us