[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

What is one of the colors on a clownfish? (hint there is a clownfish on the CR logo in the top left corner of the page.)

quality float switch?


Bookmark and Share
Page 1 of 2 1 2 Last
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    segraves1 - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Fountain Hills, AZ
    Posts
    284

    Default quality float switch?

    Hey guys, as I move along on this wonderful path towards completion of my new setup, I’m now ready to work on the auto top off system. I want to just run a line from my RO system, directly into a float switch, and into the sump. I need to make sure that the switch I use is really reliable because if it sticks open, I will flood the living room (carpet + saltwater = my parents kill me).

    So the question is:

    Who makes/where do I get a high quality float switch?
    Chris

    100gal show
    fish, polups, and LPSs

  2. #2
    jojo22 - Reefkeeper Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Canton, Ohio
    Posts
    2,828
    Does water always taste like salt and poo????


  3. #3
    lReef lKeeper - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    louisville ky
    Posts
    1,456
    First Name
    Bobby

    Default

    looks like a good choice to me. when i get mine going i think i am gonna use the same one.

  4. #4
    RWalston - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Surprise, Arizona
    Posts
    191

    Default

    The best float switch out there is from califroniareefs. It is very cheap and last a very long time. I have 2 of them one on my 110 that I have had for 3 years now and a second one on my frag tank. Dont waist your time or money buying a top off system from anyone else. Trust me. Here is a link to the web site.

    Rich

    http://www.californiareefs.com/forsale.htm

  5. #5
    RWalston - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Surprise, Arizona
    Posts
    191

    Default

    The float valve you are looking at requires you to have a pump run 24/7 so the top off system is under pressure. If something would fail you will have water everywhere. Do you really want 10-20 gallons of fresh water pumped into your sump and on to the floor. I would think twice about getting a top off system that works under pressure

    Rich

  6. #6
    Reptoreef - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Brigham City, Utah
    Posts
    2,530

    Default

    I use an auto top-off with the kent float switch in 2 vessels... the first is my kalkwasser mix vessel and the second is the sump. Always have auto top off. However, I suggest using a primary vessel for your ro tank due to the constant use of the auto shut off on the RO unit, it tends to fail rather quickly. With a holding vessel, you will be able to have a 'on' and 'off' point for the auto shut off without the constant use of the auto shut off valve. This can be done with another float switch to turn off the shut off valve, but may have to use a electronic valve to initiate the auto shut off to open up and refill the holding tank. Depending on the position of the tank and if it's pressurized, you may also have to use a pump to feed the water to the float valve in the sump, etc.
    There's nowhere else I'ld rather be... unless, of course, you're buying

  7. #7
    davejnz - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Daytona Bch,FL
    Posts
    1,446

    Default

    I fall on the opposite side of the fence when it comes to float valves/switches.A valve is a mechanical device where a switch is an electrical device.Switch's are much more prone to failing then a valve.Thats why many people who use a float switch use 2 as a backup.I've been useing gravity fed auto top off's via float valve in sump for years now.Its virtually fool proof.This type of auto top-off is gravity fed from a reservoir into the float valve,My reservoir is simple as a 5gal bucket.On my smaller tank,this is enough to last 4 days.I also use it to dose kalk/lime.
    The other option for top-off via float-valve is to plumb the RO/DI directly to the valve.This requires a pressure shut-off valve inline which cuts off the source water to the RO.These are also a mechanical device which is much less likely to fail than an elcetical switch(float switch),especially in saltwater applications in a sump.

  8. #8
    jojo22 - Reefkeeper Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Canton, Ohio
    Posts
    2,828

    Default

    these are the first two sentences of the description for the float I posted please re-read the second sentence.

    Adapts to wet/dry filter sumps. Refills filter by gravity fed water supply.

    According to the description It works on gravity and can be set to turn a ro/di unit on and off if you chose to use it with that application which would come in handy if you plumbed your unit to automaticly refill the top-off resivore so you wouldn't have to worry about it running dry (I.E. vacation time).
    Does water always taste like salt and poo????


  9. #9
    segraves1 - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Fountain Hills, AZ
    Posts
    284

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RWalston
    The float valve you are looking at requires you to have a pump run 24/7 so the top off system is under pressure. If something would fail you will have water everywhere. Do you really want 10-20 gallons of fresh water pumped into your sump and on to the floor. I would think twice about getting a top off system that works under pressure

    Rich

    Since I'm hooking the float valve up to my RO system which has a pressureized container (2gals or so) and is at least 30psi (as a result of household water main pressure), wouldn't I be safe? The water system in the house keeps the RO system pressureized and thus keeps the valve under pressure.
    Chris

    100gal show
    fish, polups, and LPSs

  10. #10
    segraves1 - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Fountain Hills, AZ
    Posts
    284

    Default

    Dave, what float valve are you using?
    Chris

    100gal show
    fish, polups, and LPSs

Page 1 of 2 1 2 Last

Similar Topics

  1. Ecology Does Chaeto Float or Sink?
    By dlhirst in forum Basics
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-27-2011, 04:01 PM
  2. float valve
    By jay13 in forum Want to Buy
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-10-2011, 07:39 PM
  3. Review and Photos of Digital Aquatics Float Switch
    By FiReBReTHa in forum Product & Vendor Reviews
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-04-2010, 02:41 PM
  4. ATO float switch?
    By Cash in forum DIY Projects & Plans
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-03-2009, 02:47 PM
  5. Where can I get a good float valve????
    By stevebla in forum DIY Projects & Plans
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-05-2006, 04:23 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

About CaptiveReefs

    If you are interested in learning about reefkeeping or have a problem with your reef, our reefkeeping community is here to help. Feel free to ask a question or search our site. We have lots of experienced reefkeepers that are willing to provide free reefkeeping advice!

    Besides being a great resource for all levels of reef aquarium hobbyists, CaptiveReefs is a social experience that will enhance your enjoyment of reefkeeping. CaptiveReefs is committed to connecting reefkeepers with the support and information they need to grow beautiful coral reef aquariums.

Information

Connect with Us