[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

Estanoche's Reef

Bookmark and Share
    estanoche - Reefkeeper CR Member
    First Name
    Joanne
    Awards Tank of the Month - March 2012 Tank of the Month

Default Estanoche's Reef

Bit of Background...

I have been reefkeeping since 2005. I really love learning all I can from forums, articles, and other published sources, and using a little ingenuity to get the job done! My first tank was a 90 gallon corner, I HATED it with a passion - and really all I hated about the tank was its dimensions... too wide for a good light (note, this was before LEDs were popular), too small of a base for a good sump, and too square for good flow. I had 6 powerheads in the thing plus I was running a MAG18 as my return to push as much through the 10 gallon sump as I could. Long story short, my favorite fish at the time jumped (a blue-sided fairy wrasse), and I broke the tank down in a pit of despair. Moved the new things I couldn't live without to a little 40 gallon tank and just let things sit for a couple years while I thought out my tank plans and decided where I wanted to go from there.

Skip forward to early spring 2010 - my years of scheming had me sold on as long a tank as I could get, in as few gallons as I could get away with, as weight and tank size are a major issue in my 100 year old 500 sq. foot home That's when I bump into this treasure on craigslist. I picked up the tank for $100, and went to town drilling and designing the overflows, building a canopy to hold my lights and keep my fish from jumping out to the floor, throwing together a complete DIY lighting system that fit my needs, converting my old 40 gallon tank to a sump, and on and on...

System & Equipment Details

80-gallon tank (63w x 14d x 22h)
    30-gallon sump (was actually the 40 gallon tank I was using previously)