[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

Mr. Microscope's Nano

Bookmark and Share
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 Last
    Mr. Microscope - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Awards Tank of the Month - August 2012 Tank of the Month

Default Mr. Microscope's Nano

Background

I've been reefing since about 2009 when I started with a little 3 gallon pico reef in my office. This really allowed me to delve into the hobby without loosing my shirt with super expensive equipment. The pico also allowed me to get over my, "new tank syndrome." As a scientist I'm always doing research and I approach this hobby the same way. For my current project, I carefully researched and planned every aspect of the build including all pieces of equipment, livestock, and DIY projects (drilling glass, plumbing, LED's, etc.). It took me a good year to figure out everything, but it was worth it.

In-Tank Aesthetics

Design is an important aspect in my life and especially in my aquarium. In order to avoid the pile-of-rocks look, I took extra care planning out the rockwork and where corals should go. This gave me a basic framework to build off of when the tank actually got wet.

For this tank, I took inspiration from John Ciotti's Upside Down Reef. One thing I learned with my pico is that unstable rock can be a disaster. Also, being the minimalist that I am, I really like lots of open sandbed. Hense, topsy-turvy rockwork really appealed to me.

Tank Specs

DT: 25 Gallon Mr. Aqua Cube (18 x 18 x 18)
    Sumpfugium: 7 Gallon Mr. Aqua Cube (12 x 12 x 12)
    Return Pump: Mag Drive 3
    Heater: 100 watt Aqueon Pro
    Heater controller: Finnex Max-300 Digital Heat Controller $20!
    Skimmer: Bubble Magus nac3
    Circulation: Ecotech MP10 Nutrient Transport Mode 85-90%
    Lighting: DIY LED with Boost LED Typhon Controller