[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

What is one of the colors on a clownfish? (hint there is a clownfish on the CR logo in the top left corner of the page.)

JBJ ATO users


Bookmark and Share
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    CR Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Minneapolis
    Posts
    92
    First Name
    Adam

    Default JBJ ATO users

    Hi everyone, Well, I am looking into ATOs and have a question that JBJ ATO users may be able to answer. A feature I really like about the JBJ ATO is that the controller will shut off the water pump if the float switch is activated for longer that ~3-4min (this feature is available on Tunze ATO but not units from autotopoff.com). If a low gph water pump such as the Tom's Aqualifter is used, it seems like this back up could ensure the tank will not overflow (assuming water level is not set close to top of tank). So for example, a snail crawls onto the float switch, pushing down and activating the switch to turn on the pump. The tank fills with water but not enough to overflow the tank in 3-4min. My question is, when a float switch has been activated for ~3-4min and controller shuts-off the pump, how is the ATO unit reset? Can you reset the unit by simply lifting up (deactivating) the float switch, or does the ATO controller need to be manually reset (like, unplugged and plugged back in)? I would prefer the latter requirement of manually resetting the unit controller. My concern is this: Extending the example with the snail from above, let's say the snail which was on the float switch for 3-4min (causing the tank to fill, but not overflow, and the controller to shut off the pump) steps off of the float switch, allowing the float switch to lift/float-up and turn off/deactivate. But then the snail decides to immediately crawl back onto the float switch, pushing it down. Will this action of the float switch being pushed down again be able to now turn on the pump? If so, the tank might then overflow since the starting water level would be higher because of the previous time the snail activated the float switch. So, my hope is that the JBJ unit requires some manual reset of the controller after it has shut-off due to the float switch being activated more than 3-4min. It seems the Tunze ATO is more fail safe than the JBJ, but the ATO sensors need to be in my display tank. Currently I maintain water level in my standard 29 gallon tank at the bottom of the black plastic rim (~1inch from top of tank). A lower water level is less aesthetically pleasing and I do not think my HOB skimmer works as well at lower water level. For the Tunze sensors which use large magnet tank attachments, I think that the highest water level that could be maintained would be ~1/2 inch below the black rim. If a single float switch is used from with the JBJ unit, I think that the water level could be set a little higher. Are there other factors I should be considered pertaining to reliability (tank not overflowing) for the JBJ and Tunze ATO? If water level can be maintained where just below that black rim of the tank with the Tunze, I would go with that unit. Thanks in advance for your input.

  2. #2
    MizTanks - Reefkeeper
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    U.P. of Michigan.
    Posts
    7,640
    First Name
    Jamie
    Awards Photo of the Month - October 2012 Photo of the Month Post and Reply Award - Winner of the first PAR Contest. Monthly Giveaway Winner

    Default

    The JBJ float switch comes with a cover of sorts to keep out snail access So far it's worked wonderfully for me! It's not in the pic but what I did was super glue the float housing to the underside of the tank trim. A lot more stable then the supplied suction cup. This also allows me to keep my water level a little higher.
    I love this JBJ ATO! I'm also using the Tom Aquatic's lifter pump with airline tubing. I run the top off water right into my HOB fuge, which then enters the DT
    IMG 0008 1 - JBJ ATO users
    IMG 0012 1 - JBJ ATO users


    Personally I didn't even know of the auto shut off~lol.
    There's nothing like being a Reefer! www.upmmas.com

  3. #3
    CR Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    California
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Yes you have to reset the jbj after it times out by unplugging it. You can also adjust the timeout time. Also use a slow pump like the aqua lifter and you should be fine

  4. #4
    CR Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Minneapolis
    Posts
    92
    First Name
    Adam

    Default

    Thanks, that's the info I wanted to hear!

  5. #5
    MizTanks - Reefkeeper
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    U.P. of Michigan.
    Posts
    7,640
    First Name
    Jamie
    Awards Photo of the Month - October 2012 Photo of the Month Post and Reply Award - Winner of the first PAR Contest. Monthly Giveaway Winner

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BC United View Post
    Thanks, that's the info I wanted to hear!

    Oops sorry..to much of the wrong info
    There's nothing like being a Reefer! www.upmmas.com

  6. #6
    CR Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Minneapolis
    Posts
    92
    First Name
    Adam

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MizTanks View Post
    Oops sorry..to much of the wrong info
    The info and the pics you provided were actually very helpful. I did not think of directly glueing the float switch to the glass and I may need to similarly try that to achieve the water level height I want. I have seen someone attach/glue the float switch to a mag-float before. What type of glue did you use? I have a "thin" super glue that I use to attach some of my frags, but may be something "thicker"/stronger would be better.

  7. #7
    MizTanks - Reefkeeper
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    U.P. of Michigan.
    Posts
    7,640
    First Name
    Jamie
    Awards Photo of the Month - October 2012 Photo of the Month Post and Reply Award - Winner of the first PAR Contest. Monthly Giveaway Winner

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BC United View Post
    The info and the pics you provided were actually very helpful. I did not think of directly glueing the float switch to the glass and I may need to similarly try that to achieve the water level height I want. I have seen someone attach/glue the float switch to a mag-float before. What type of glue did you use? I have a "thin" super glue that I use to attach some of my frags, but may be something "thicker"/stronger would be better.
    I just used super glue gel and attached it to the trim underside, not the glass
    There's nothing like being a Reefer! www.upmmas.com

Similar Topics

  1. Salt & Water Aquavitro Salinity Users
    By creefer in forum Basics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-04-2013, 11:31 AM
  2. Canon EOS users, need some photography help please
    By Wy Renegade in forum Photography
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-17-2011, 09:46 PM
  3. photobucket users take note
    By tazzy695 in forum Photography
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-31-2010, 07:30 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

About CaptiveReefs

    If you are interested in learning about reefkeeping or have a problem with your reef, our reefkeeping community is here to help. Feel free to ask a question or search our site. We have lots of experienced reefkeepers that are willing to provide free reefkeeping advice!

    Besides being a great resource for all levels of reef aquarium hobbyists, CaptiveReefs is a social experience that will enhance your enjoyment of reefkeeping. CaptiveReefs is committed to connecting reefkeepers with the support and information they need to grow beautiful coral reef aquariums.

Information

Connect with Us