[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

Looking for LED DIY sites.

Bookmark and Share
Page 1 of 2 1 2 Last
    CR Member
    First Name
    Mike

Default Looking for LED DIY sites.

OK, starting my research on lighting first. After giving some consideration to the tried and true halide, and my previous favorite T5, I have decided to go LED for this project.

Having been out of the loop for the last year or so, I have lost a list of favorite sites. I know where to get my heatsink, and I am sure I can do the forced air cooling locally, but I am still learning the LEC language. It looks like a ratio of 2 to 1 blue to white is the norm.

With the drivers, can they be connected to a Reefkeeper Lite controller and be made to gradually increase and decrease light intensity? What driver should I be looking at?

Sorry for all the questions, but I am going to do this right the first time!

EMUreef - Reefkeeper
    IT Guru

Awards March Madness Award - 2013 March Madness Winner Photo of the Month Fishbowl Drawing Winner

you will need this for your reefkeeper

Digital Aquatics

and these drivers.

Mean Well ELN-60-48D dimmable driver

rapidled is where i would recommend. great shipping and service.

jstan - Reefkeeper CR Member
    First Name
    Jason

I second rapidled great service, although I personally like the TRC drivers that nanotuners offer. Though choice of driver is up to you. Just make sure the LEDs are good, there the backbone of your fixture.

Check out Evils sticky in the ask the experts forum. He also has a bunch of threads another forum. Can't remember which one though. Just do a google search on his screen name and it should pull up a bunch of stuff.

Jason's phone

CR Member
    First Name
    Mike