[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

What type of fish is in the middle of CaptiveReefs (top left corner of page...hint it is the main character in Finding Nemo) )

Mp10 closer to the surface?


Bookmark and Share
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 Last
Results 1 to 10 of 27
  1. #1
    MizTanks - Reefkeeper
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    U.P. of Michigan.
    Posts
    7,761
    First Name
    Jamie
    Awards Photo of the Month - October 2012 Photo of the Month Post and Reply Award - Winner of the first PAR Contest. Monthly Giveaway Winner

    Default Mp10 closer to the surface?

    I'd like to place my Mp10 closer to the surface to help with agitation and to disperse the surface protein. Is this ok?
    There's nothing like being a Reefer! www.upmmas.com

  2. #2
    nate_newton - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    St. Joseph, MI
    Posts
    511
    First Name
    Nate

    Default

    Yeah, mines about 2" from the surface. Just watch it for when its speed goes the highest so that it doesn't suck in air. Also I'm in Reefcrest mode.

  3. #3
    MizTanks - Reefkeeper
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    U.P. of Michigan.
    Posts
    7,761
    First Name
    Jamie
    Awards Photo of the Month - October 2012 Photo of the Month Post and Reply Award - Winner of the first PAR Contest. Monthly Giveaway Winner

    Default

    Mines already about 2" from the surface and is barely touching it. Maybe a different setting? I've got it on the #2 Eco Smart setting.
    There's nothing like being a Reefer! www.upmmas.com

  4. #4
    jimsflies - Reefkeeper
    Admin/Founder

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    10,744
    First Name
    Jim

    Default

    Turn it up and it will move more water and break it up some...but at some point (more flow or closer to the water surface) it will likely start a vortex and suck in air. If you go with the pulse mode it will do it on every wave cycle as the water level dips down low enough/pump ramps up.

    Keep in mind a protein "skimmer" isn't the same as a surface skimmer...you need a weir that will break the water surface in order mix the surface film with the water column where it can be processed by the protein skimmer. I'm not familiar with the slim skim, but if you can overflow directly into that, you would improve the efficiency of protein removal as that is essentially what is floating on the surface (your influent would have a higher concentration of proteins to remove).

  5. #5
    nate_newton - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    St. Joseph, MI
    Posts
    511
    First Name
    Nate

    Default

    Maybe try a random mode, the yellow. Reefcrest is first and lagoon is second.

    Quote Originally Posted by MizTanks View Post
    Mines already about 2" from the surface and is barely touching it. Maybe a different setting? I've got it on the #2 Eco Smart setting.

  6. #6
    jimsflies - Reefkeeper
    Admin/Founder

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    10,744
    First Name
    Jim

    Default

    I think without surface skimming there will always be some floating in a corner.

  7. #7
    nate_newton - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    St. Joseph, MI
    Posts
    511
    First Name
    Nate

    Default

    Definitely if there is no surface skimmer

  8. #8
    MizTanks - Reefkeeper
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    U.P. of Michigan.
    Posts
    7,761
    First Name
    Jamie
    Awards Photo of the Month - October 2012 Photo of the Month Post and Reply Award - Winner of the first PAR Contest. Monthly Giveaway Winner

    Default

    Freakin A! Right back where I started from. Bought the skimmer because it stated it *surface skimmed* and it's NOT
    There's nothing like being a Reefer! www.upmmas.com

  9. #9
    nate_newton - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    St. Joseph, MI
    Posts
    511
    First Name
    Nate

    Default

    Any chance you have a pic of skimmer in your tank? The skimmer does have an overflow that takes water from the surface.

  10. #10
    MizTanks - Reefkeeper
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    U.P. of Michigan.
    Posts
    7,761
    First Name
    Jamie
    Awards Photo of the Month - October 2012 Photo of the Month Post and Reply Award - Winner of the first PAR Contest. Monthly Giveaway Winner

    Default

    IMG 1971 - Mp10 closer to the surface?
    IMG 1972 - Mp10 closer to the surface?
    IMG 1970 - Mp10 closer to the surface?

    Surface protein:
    IMG 1975 - Mp10 closer to the surface?
    There's nothing like being a Reefer! www.upmmas.com

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 Last

Similar Topics

  1. corals and mp10
    By mikezalewski in forum Livestock Sales & Trades
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-18-2012, 12:54 PM
  2. Fish and a MP10
    By kozyreef in forum Want to Buy
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-25-2010, 12:56 PM
  3. WTB: VorTech MP10
    By Argent in forum Want to Buy
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-03-2010, 12:32 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

About CaptiveReefs

    If you are interested in learning about reefkeeping or have a problem with your reef, our reefkeeping community is here to help. Feel free to ask a question or search our site. We have lots of experienced reefkeepers that are willing to provide free reefkeeping advice!

    Besides being a great resource for all levels of reef aquarium hobbyists, CaptiveReefs is a social experience that will enhance your enjoyment of reefkeeping. CaptiveReefs is committed to connecting reefkeepers with the support and information they need to grow beautiful coral reef aquariums.

Information

Connect with Us