[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

Need Advice on Lighting Choices!

Bookmark and Share
    shovelhead91701 - Reefkeeper CR Member
    First Name
    Shawn

Default Need Advice on Lighting Choices!

As some of you guys know I am new to this hobby and plan on putting a large wall tank into the stairwell wall of the home that I am building.I will flush the tank front with the wall and all of my equipment will go into the space behind(stairwell). I need to know what style of lighting and what size to go with that will be a one time purchase(no upgrades!) to support any life I choose for the reef. money is not a problem on this particular question- just want to buy what i need once. Any help or opinions would be great!

Shawn :razz:
    The days are long and the work is difficult but every night I sleep as a man who has achieved his goals.

CR Member

I wish I had that type of option.. i would go crazy. Like a kind with 100 dollars inn a candy shop!

well you could go with a metal hilide attinic combo. that what we have at my store that i work at. and they are awsome.

PM me and i will help you out with the details and the length and the prices. you could evenbuy it from us.
    what can you do when you live in a shoe and you ain\'t got no soul.

davejnz - Reefkeeper CR Member

Is it a 55gal that is going in your wall? The type of light you need will depend alot on the corals you intend to keep and the depth of your tank.If your goal is to keep most all corals and you have a deep tank( >20")then halides will be you best option.For tanks that are <20",VHO and T5 flourescents will be fine.PC's would be my last choice because of there bulky size and shorter bulb life.A 4 bulb VHO/ T5 setup will allow you to keep just about every coral and have the benefit of lighting a tank evenly.