[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

New water pump ?'s

Bookmark and Share
    Sea~Horse~Whisperer - Reefkeeper CR Member

Default New water pump ?'s

#ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#I bought a new pump for my tank. I have never used an inline pump before. How do I get it all connected? It will replace my powerheads and my mag 9.5 I have in my sump. This new pump will pump 7400 gph If I use a ball valve to restrict the flow, will it harm the pump at all?I would like to get a lot more flow in the tank, but I don't want to over do it. The only reason I went with such a large pump is so I don't have to buy another when I finally get all of the equipment together for the new tank. Can someone explain how to get this pump hooked up and running? Will I have to drill a hole in my sump? Can I just use PVC and go up and over the side of the sump into the water? I'm not too worried about loosing water pressure or whatever, I have more than enough for that. #ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#Thanks in Advance,#ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#Angie#ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl#

davejnz - Reefkeeper CR Member

First,what kind of pump is it?Since its an external pump,it should be used for a closed loop,you do not want that kind of flow going through your sump.I am almost finished with nmy 75 project log that'll be useing a closed loop/inline pump,here's the link

http://www.captivereefing.com/viewtopic.php?t=1034

Sea~Horse~Whisperer - Reefkeeper CR Member