[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

Skimmer question -Super Reef Octopus 1000 Internal Skimmer

Bookmark and Share
    Fish Dad - Reefkeeper CR Member
    First Name
    Jim

Default Skimmer question -Super Reef Octopus 1000 Internal Skimmer

Has anyone used the Super Reef Octopus 1000 Internal Skimmer, Model: SRO-1000INT looking for feedback and amount of space needed in sump. (description says Footprint: 10.6" x 7.5" is that skimmer or total space?)
    I’m just getting into the salt water hobby and trying to design my sump and set up.
    The tank is a 55 gallon and I’m looking at a 20 -30 gallon tank for the sump, thinking this is my skimmer. Thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Heidi - Reefkeeper
    Queen of Chat

First Name
    Heidi
    Awards Fishbowl Drawing Winner

10.6" x 7.5 that would be the rectangular amount of space you need for it to fit in your sump. make sure you look and see how tall it is and make sure it fits for hight too.. You want a couple inches all around the skimmer and its pump so that there is room for maintenance and adjustments, So adding 2 inches out from all directions to that foot print will make for the minimum sump chamber to fit it in.
    I have the Super Reef Octopus 3000 with the bubble blaster pump and I LOVE it. I have a 150g with about 30g sump. I think it is best to get the biggest skimmer you can afford because this is IMO one of the most important things you will buy for this hobby second only to lights. Not to mention you are starting with a 55g but you may want to upgrade down the road so the biggest Super Reef Octopus you can afford would suit you well. I know some will say that you can "over skim" a tank...but I don't think that is very accurate.
    Just some food for thought
    Heidi

PS Welcome to Captive Reefs!!