[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

NEW LIFE FORM IN MY TANK?

Bookmark and Share
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 Last
    CR Member
    Originally from Philly we moved to South Jersey a few years ago

Default NEW LIFE FORM IN MY TANK?

Okay, so I am new at this dont laugh. Can coral grow in a tank if no other coral matter exists in a tank? This week little white fluffy things emerged all ofer my tank. At first glance it appears to be a fungus or algae. However, a closer look shows a tubular organism with a slight crown, surrounded by fuzz. I am wondering if this is an emergence of coral or some other life form. I once over fed my freshwater fish, and the food became a white fuzzy fungus, but this is so different, and the fish have been underfed this week. I really cant get a picure of it. Can anyone help me figure this out?

TJDeMars - Reefkeeper Registered User

sounds to me like a tube worm. I have 100's of them in my tank, they just keep popping out of the rocks. how long has the tank been going?

CR Member

I guess its been 7-8 months. I only have one tube worm, one damsel, one clown, one goby, one puffer, one starfish, one condy anemone and a few pounds of live rock. Tube worm is what it looked like to me, but what do I know? Do tube worms release "reproductive sprores" into the water? Because if so then that is most likely what it is. They mostly settled on the bottom of the tank, but theres a bunch on the glass, scattered all over the place. I wasnt sure if I should remove them or let them grow.

jojo22 - Reefkeeper Registered User

I agree with tube worms. If you move something near them and they disapear that is what they are.
    Does water always taste like salt and poo????

CR Member