[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

Mandarin dragonet

Bookmark and Share
Page 1 of 2 1 2 Last
    systemfan15 - Reefkeeper CR Member

Default Mandarin dragonet

Hello, I have several questions on mandarin dragonets. First of all I would like to start out by saying I'm a beginner at this. Secondly although I love the looks of the mandarin's, I DO NOT WANT ONE....my girlfriend does...HAHA. So now that that is out of the way, how exactly should I care for the fish? According to tropical fish hobbyist, they shouldn't even be kept in captivity (my gf doesn't care...lol) and to extract these fish, they are harmful to the reef. Why is the mandarin so hard to care for? Is it because of the lack of food it eats, or does it just not survive in captivity? Also, how does the extraction of these beautiful fish destroy the reef, and what process do the "capturers" use? Any answers to my numerous questions would be greatly appreciated!! Thank you.
    Steve K.

They're difficult to keep because they're very specific with what they eat, and most of them won't eat frozen foods. They prefer live pods to eat, which usually means that you need a larger tank with lots of live rock. Do NOT get a mandarin unless your tank has been set up for a while, most people will say at least a year. Also, your tank should be teeming with pods (usually you can see them at night) and you'll probably want to have a fuge for pod reproduction.

I guess what I'm saying is that it's probably not in the best interest of the fish unless you have the right setup for it.

Regarding harvesting practices, some collectors use chemicals on the reefs to stun the fish so that they're easier to collect. I'm sure someone else can chime in as well.
    120G Reef and 40B reef at work, 120G tank dry and dirty in the garage.