[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

new to saltwater!!!

Bookmark and Share
Page 1 of 2 1 2 Last

Default new to saltwater!!!

Hi I am new to salt water and would like some advice on corals and fish, like if I were to start a reef tank and it fills up alot of the tank does that effect how many fish I can keep in???

jimsflies - Reefkeeper
    Admin/Founder

First Name
    Jim

Welcome to CR!

I would say for the most part coral growth doesn't affect the fish. With that said, if you know space is going to be limited you might avoid fish that are known to be real active swimmers like tangs and some wrasses. My tank is pretty packed and I think the fish enjoy it more because it provides them "cover" and more places to hunt.

It will be interesting to get others opinions on this as well. What size tank are you considering getting?
    Likes AshleyDawn2317 liked this post

MizTanks - Reefkeeper
    First Name
    Jamie
    Awards Photo of the Month - October 2012 Photo of the Month Post and Reply Award - Winner of the first PAR Contest. Monthly Giveaway Winner

A few things come to my mind with having to many corals. That would be for those fish that love picking algae & pods off the rock. If the rock is covered with corals, no room for the grazers.
    Another being like Jim said, room to swim.

Sent from my iPhone 4s via Tapatalk.
    There's nothing like being a Reefer! www.upmmas.com

ReefTech - Reefkeeper Moderator

First Name
    Matt
    Awards Wheel Master Award - Helping with run the Frag & Swag wheel at the Michigan Coral Expo & Swap 2014. Yugo Award - For running the CR booth during MCES

Again, welcome to CR!!!