[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

Yellow tang left eye cloudy

Bookmark and Share
    CR Member
    First Name
    Joel

Default Yellow tang left eye cloudy

I am fairly new to the salt water tanks. I have a 90 gal and just added a yellow tang that I bought from tropicorium in MI. They were very helpfully and told me to go to this site if I had any questions. The fish has a cloudy film over it's left eye, and maybe just a little swollen looking. Should I be worried or do anything?

Thanks!

Joel

CR Member

How long has it been cloudy? As a general rule for myself, I always soak high quality food, ie.. rods, in a garlic solution, which can be purchased or made, for 5-10 minutes for the first week of feeding any time I get new fish. Garlic generally helps the fish eat and their immune systems fight off parasites. Cloudy eyes could be a number of things, hence how long has it been cloudy. It could clear up in a few days, or it could fall out....or even be signs of other more serious issues.
    Need to laugh sometimes http://cheezburger.com/View/5382969600
    Likes larryandlaura liked this post

CR Member
    First Name
    Joel

Quote Originally Posted by hardcz View Post
    How long has it been cloudy? As a general rule for myself, I always soak high quality food, ie.. rods, in a garlic solution, which can be purchased or made, for 5-10 minutes for the first week of feeding any time I get new fish. Garlic generally helps the fish eat and their immune systems fight off parasites. Cloudy eyes could be a number of things, hence how long has it been cloudy. It could clear up in a few days, or it could fall out....or even be signs of other more serious issues.