[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

Brittle Star (green)

Bookmark and Share
    CR Member
    First Name
    Joel

Default Brittle Star (green)

I'm still fairly new to this. I have a green brittle star that is about 12" in diameter. Just found out from the guys that Trop. that they will eat fish. So I moved him to my sump for the time being till I can give him to Trop. My question is he ok down there? Should I put any food down there, how long is too long to keep him down there. The only reason is my 4 year old is kind of attached to it.

Thank you!

joel

iyachtuxivm - Reefkeeper CR Member
    First Name
    Jamie

Quote Originally Posted by ShockSniper View Post
    I'm still fairly new to this. I have a green brittle star that is about 12" in diameter. Just found out from the guys that Trop. that they will eat fish. So I moved him to my sump for the time being till I can give him to Trop. My question is he ok down there? Should I put any food down there, how long is too long to keep him down there. The only reason is my 4 year old is kind of attached to it.

Thank you!

joel
    They do eat fish. If your food you feed your fish can get to where he is in the sump then he will be fine indefinately. Which means you can keep him for as long as you want. I would just feed him a nice size chunk of something meaty every once in a while also.
    "The beatings will continue until morale improves."

larryandlaura - Reefkeeper
    Team CR

First Name
    Larry
    Awards Monthly Giveaway Winner Fantasy Football Champion Referral Award Monthly Giveaway Winner

I have a huge brittle as well and its never harmed any of my fish!
    Hi my name is Larry and I'm a coral addict!

CR Member
    First Name
    Joel

Quote Originally Posted by larryandlaura View Post
    I have a huge brittle as well and its never harmed any of my fish!