[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

SPS care

Bookmark and Share
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 Last
    chrisl1 - Reefkeeper CR Member

Default SPS care

As the title says, who is doing what to keep your SPS corals, I am new to them, but my regiment is just using my pro buffer, turbo calcium and I just started to add strontium and molybdenum 1x a week. anyone use more or less, tell me about your success or failures.

Chris

davejnz - Reefkeeper CR Member

SPS is a vague term but generally Acropora spp. and Montipora spp. are the corals that most keep that get lumped into that SPS label.The single most important thing in having success with them is a stable alkalinity IMO/IME.I prefer a 9dKH level but others push it higher to 10-11dKH.IME,I've found Acropora to be more susceptible to "tissue sloughing/RTN" when kept at higher alk levels.Its purely anecdotal eveidence so take it as that.For supplements,I use kalk/lime water as auto-top-off 24/7/356.It keeps my params rock steady
    PH-8.2-8.4
    ALK-9dKH
    Calc-420
    I don't dose Strontium as i don't feel its needed.Although Strontium is incorporated in some skeletons,it is very similiar to calcium in its molecular structure and studies have shown that strontium might be used as a replacement for calcium by the coral.REptoreef has had tremendous growth/success with SPS type corals and hopefully he'll chime in here.

jerryc - Reefkeeper CR Member

I go along with Dave i just try to keep my calcium and alk stable.
    With good water quality
    I HAVE A PROBLEM' I'M ADDICTED TO MICROMUSSA

RazorBack Reef. com
    keepersofthereef.com
    http://www.captivereefing.ws/weblog.php?w=7

What about water flow, direct aiming at them or just good general circulation?

lReef lKeeper - Reefkeeper CR Member
    First Name
    Bobby