[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

Questions on transporting corals

Bookmark and Share
    CR Member

Default Questions on transporting corals

Hi folks,

I am extremely new to this hobby....oh lets say about 3 weeks now. :-D But I've been reading your postings and thought that this would be a great forum to share ideas and learn a few things. Obviously I'll be getting a lot more out than I put back in the short run.

I bought an 75 gallon tank with a 55 gallon Berlin(?) type sump setup. It came with a nice sail-fin tang, clown fish, banded shrimp, pulsing xenia, a couple of red legged hermit crabs, star polyps and a very nice maxima clam. The tank hadn't been maintained and there was hair algae covering 90% of the live rock.

I was able to save and transfer all of the old water, and after 2 days the water was clear and tested fine. I added 8 turbo snails, 6 astrea snails, 8 small hermits, a scooter blenny and a lawnmower blenny. Since then I've added 2 more turbos, 2 emerald crabs, 2 cleaner shrimp, 6 more small hermits, 2 scissor tail gobi's and a yellow-tailed damsel.

The job those turbos did on the algae was amazing...very little algae left and I have some very nice purple color throughout my tank now...