[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

My co-worker's melting zoas :(

Bookmark and Share
Page 1 of 2 1 2 Last

Default My co-worker's melting zoas :(

My friend has a 29 BC and cannot seem to keep zoas. For some unknown reason, any she adds seem to melt for her within a week. Her tank is doing well otherwise. She did have a flatworms outbreak a few months ago; she did two rounds of FW Exit and killed them, ran carbon, and did massive water changes. But I would not think it would be a continued factor.

Any thoughts? I am not a zoa expert. Any advice is appreciated!
    Detroit's oldest large LED tank! Est'd Jan 2005, went LED June 2009. 6' wide 130g reef, Sunbrite T10 LED tubes (3xGen 3 and 1xGen 1), mostly SPS, but chalices, other LPS, and a few softies too.
    http://pjr-reef.blogspot.com/

MizTanks - Reefkeeper
    First Name
    Jamie
    Awards Photo of the Month - October 2012 Photo of the Month Post and Reply Award - Winner of the first PAR Contest. Monthly Giveaway Winner

Wow does this sound familiar. I had the 8g biocube and for over a year I couldn't keep but one type of zoa. Every zoa aside from that one melted within days of adding them to my tank.

I never did come up with a concrete answer. Many here tried to help me also. Some suggested that the tank water was *to clean* others said it may have something to do with it being a *closed system* she will notice she has very little top off that's needed. Some also said it may be the lighting~cf.