[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

coral feeding?

Bookmark and Share
Page 1 of 2 1 2 Last
    segraves1 - Reefkeeper CR Member

Default coral feeding?

I'm thinking this coral (short bubble) is feeding (I gave it a squirt of cyclopieze with a baster) but just curious. Since I have never actually seen a coral feed before (ie: someone point to "that coral is feeding"), I wanted to make sure the coral wasn't getting P*ed and closing up.
    Chris

100gal show
    fish, polups, and LPSs

jojo22 - Reefkeeper Registered User

Looks like he's havin dinner to me. But hey I'm no expert just my 2 cents. Hopefully someone with more exp. will chime in.
    Does water always taste like salt and poo????

Reef_Angel - Reefkeeper CR Member

I would say you have a pretty happy bubble there. I used to feed my big bubble coral brine shrimp, cyclopeeze, oyster eggs, daphnia.....they generally are pigs! Once they realize that you a willing feeder, I have noticed in my corals that when feeding time comes around, they sense my arrival and suddenly mouths start to open. It's actually an awesome phoenomina, but they have proven this to me time and time again. You can literally find the mouth on your bubble and feed it direct if you like, but be careful not to tear any of the delicate tissue on the coral. I use a baster. Once I learn where the mouth is, I simply put a bit of the tip between the bubbles and squirt some of the food into its mouth. Do not overfeed as they've been known to "puke" to much ingested food back into the tank. You don't want the foods to cause a swing in your parameters as the wasted food spoils. Have fun, but use care and caution. ...Angel :angel1:
    Have a Wonderful Day on the Reef!
    :angel07:...Reef_Angel
    Owner/Administrator

**If you have a need to phone me,
    PM me and we can arrange for a chat!

~*