[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

Please enter the six letters or digits that appear in the image opposite.

Help out a Newbie with some Aiptasia killers?

Bookmark and Share
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 Last
    mrs.som - Reefkeeper CR Member

Unhappy Help out a Newbie with some Aiptasia killers?

Hi all!
    I bought a secondhand 29gal biocube from craigslist that has some wonderful fish and corals AND aiptasia
    We just moved to East Lansing and I spent more than our budget for the tank, but really need to get some sort of livestock to rid the tank of these pests! I have $6 in cash if anyone can help me out with some red claw crabs, peppermint shrimp or whatever you have that eats aiptasia. I know there are chemical methods for controlling them but as a newbie, I am not confident enough to venture into that.
    I am willing to travel 30min in any direction

Thanks so much!

~Bonnie

Oh, and I might consider trading some of my red mushrooms (small, on chunks of live rock) for shrimp/crabs etc. Thanks!

BK's Reef - Reefkeeper CR Member

if you are getting alot of aiptasia it is probably due to bad water chemistry. Aiptasia multiply fast if you are high in nitrates in other words overfeeding or not enough water changes. How big are they? if they are medium to large sized the only thing that will really eat it are few fish. Peppermint shrimp only eat small aiptasia. Things that will eat it are peppermint shrimp(small aiptasia), silver scat(brackish fish), filefish and some butterflies but the butterflies will be too large for the tank. Best way to get rid of aiptasia in my experience is to either chip off the rock around the aiptasia. Another way you can get rid of them but you will only be able to do a few small rocks to 1 rock at a time is to boil water and put the rock in. But there is a danger of some popping in the rock if the heat cant escape.
    cheers