[Timezone Detection]
Create Account - Join in Seconds!

User Name: Email Address:
Human Verification

What type of fish is in the middle of CaptiveReefs (top left corner of page...hint it is the main character in Finding Nemo) )

Fuge sand depth ???


Bookmark and Share
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Heidi - Reefkeeper
    Queen of Chat

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    979
    First Name
    Heidi
    Awards Fishbowl Drawing Winner

    Question Fuge sand depth ???

    So I am reading a lot about fuges and it seems that they have a pretty deep sand bed most of the time. What is the point of that? Can I have a shallow sand bend and still get the filtration (biological) that I need from my fuge? Right now the fuge has about 10 pounds of cured live rock from my hex and about an inch of sand also from the hex. I have a quickly growing ball of cheato, and the rocks I picked were the macro covered ones. SO do I need more sand?
    Thanks CR , have a told you lately that you rock!?
    Heidi

  2. #2
    bigbill - Reefkeeper CR Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    warren mi
    Posts
    1,076
    First Name
    Bill
    Awards Grow Out King - 2011 Grow Out Contest Photo of the Month MBI Participant

    Default

    i have a 2 inch mud bed and have heard u dont want much more then that
    I have no fear of losing my life - if I have to save a koala or a crocodile or a kangaroo or a snake, mate, I will save it.
    Steve Irwin
    mbisite.org/mbi_sig.aspx?u=bigbill&img=2

  3. #3
    jolson10450 - Reefkeeper
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Gibraltar
    Posts
    1,979
    First Name
    Justin
    Awards Grow Out King Monthly Giveaway Winner Monthly Giveaway Winner

    Default

    deep sand beds create extra nitrate exportation but if the sand bed is too deep it will not work and if it is too shallow it will not work, personally i use about 1" of sand only in the bottom and just load the whole sump up with liverock and rock rubble. the chaeto grows like crazy for me. i put the rock rubble in chamber 1 which is where the skimmer and heater is and in chamber 2 where the refugium is, in chamber 3 where my return is i dont put anything because i dont want it to get sucked up and break the pump or slow the pump down.

Similar Topics

  1. Lighting/ Halide MH vs ATI Powermodule T5 vs Depth
    By hoaglanddiver in forum Hardware
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-04-2010, 11:44 AM
  2. Lighting/ Halide depth of 175W MH
    By Sea~Horse~Whisperer in forum Hardware
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-07-2006, 09:18 PM
  3. Lighting/ Halide 250Watt + depth = enough?
    By segraves1 in forum Hardware
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-26-2006, 07:06 PM
  4. A cool depth-of-field picture
    By perpetual98 in forum Photography
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-15-2005, 10:12 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

About CaptiveReefs

    If you are interested in learning about reefkeeping or have a problem with your reef, our reefkeeping community is here to help. Feel free to ask a question or search our site. We have lots of experienced reefkeepers that are willing to provide free reefkeeping advice!

    Besides being a great resource for all levels of reef aquarium hobbyists, CaptiveReefs is a social experience that will enhance your enjoyment of reefkeeping. CaptiveReefs is committed to connecting reefkeepers with the support and information they need to grow beautiful coral reef aquariums.

Information

Connect with Us